We Are Called

I wrote a poem this past week, and I thought I would share it. Think If We Are the Body by Casting Crowns:

We are called to be the hands and feet of Christ.
We must remember that they reached out to heal hurts.
We must remember that they carried the good news.
We must remember that they touched the lepers.
We must remember that they went to the cross.
We must remember that they took nails for sinners.

We are called to be the Body of Christ.
We must remember that it embodied grace.
We must remember that it held the sick and dead.
We must remember that it loved through our hate.
We must remember that it removed all our sin.
We must remember that it took our place.

We are called to be ambassadors of Christ.
If His hands and feet were pierced on the cross,
If He touched the unclean and destitute,
If He showed love and grace to each of us,
If He gave His life to show this to the world,
Then are we portraying the true Jesus?

I just started thinking about “Jesus’ hands, feet, and body were bruised and scarred; so how come so many in the West rarely show their scars and bruises?” The poem just kind of flowed out.

If you like, I can keep posting poetry I write. Just let me know. It will take a few Facebook likes and comments here and on Facebook for me to consider it, though!

Grace and Peace!

©

  1. I enjoyed your poem very much! I think your poem illustrates that if we are to truly be like Jesus, then we are going to get pretty dirty and bruised. In Matthew 23:11, Jesus states: “He who is greatest among you shall be your servant.”

    I think Jesus statement above pretty much says it all.

    Great post!

    Blessings,

    • Thanks a lot, Mark!

      It also occurred to me that we have preachers and evangelists who present this perfect life with no problems, who preach that life is great in Christ, yet they never reveal their own hurts and bruises and cuts and dirt. Some say “Well, they need to be that voice of strength to help lead the way! People need that solid example!”

      The only perfect one is Christ. Paul showed his weaknesses and failures. “But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me” (2 Corinthians 12:9, NIV). Our pastor frequently speaks on his past of drugs, alcohol, and abusive behavior; all the while he points to God’s amazing grace which saved and changed him, giving all the glory to God.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

