O, Holy Spirit, we beseech Thee!

Holy SpiritSeveral things have happened in recent weeks that kind of rocked my brain a bit.
One was hearing a dear friend suddenly exclaim “You do not worship or pray to the Holy Spirit!”
One was the topic coming up in my classes.
One was my remembering thinking about it several times over the past decade and having some random person online ask me about the role of the Holy Spirit.

Can we or should we worship and/or pray to the Holy Spirit?

I have heard arguments on both sides for years. One extreme is saying the Holy Spirit does not work anymore, the other extreme is that we need to focus primarily on the workings of the Holy Spirit. In the last couple of weeks, I have read that these issues have been debated and even fought over throughout the last two milennia on several occasions. That is one reason we have some of the Creeds.
But the question remains: Should we?
A few of the arguments I have heard are listed below, and just so we are clear these are arguments I have heard/read and not necessarily what I believe. As a list of pro’s and cons:

Pro’s (Why we should)
Con’s (Why we should not)
Connects us to God in Heaven
Is still with us here on Earth, not in Heaven
Is Jesus Christ within us
Pushes us towards faith in Jesus Christ
Is God helping us to do good works or doing works through us
Is merely a guide (Counselor)
Any thoughts? Throw me some feedback! Maybe we can get a good conversation going!
  1. Interesting question. I really have not given this much thought up until now…but here’s my humble take.

    I do not pray directly to the Holy Spirit though I really see no problem with calling on the Holy Spirit in time of prayer and/or need. I personally don’t because the Holy Spirit does nothing of his own accord. In John 16:13 Jesus states: …he (the Holy Spirit) shall not speak of himself; but whatsoever he shall hear,….” In the next verse Jesus says: “He shall glorify me, for he shall receive of mine, and shew it unto you.”

    If people realize that the Holy Spirit will always glorify the name of Jesus, I believe they will never go wrong.

    The Holy Spirit does perform some vital functions as well as being the 3rd person of the Godhead.

    1. To help (Romans 8:26
    2. To Teach (John 16)
    3. To Reveal (1John 2:27)
    4. To empower (Eph. 3:16 Col. 1:11; 2Cor 10:4; Acts 1:8)

    So in essence the Holy Spirit is our Helper, Comforter, Counselor, Intercessor, Advocate, Strengthener, Stand-by power-power when we need it. Also tow of the most outstanding areas of His helping us in in prayer and bringing things to our remembrance.

    In closing, I think if we understand the function and the unction of the Holy Spirit…we can pray as we feel led.

    Great thought provoking post!

    Blessings to you and yours!

    • Great thoughts! In coming days I plan on sharing more of my thoughts on this, as well.

      A small taste: I have personally prayed “Holy Spirit, continue to help me grow in love and to be holier.” And the like.

      Also, do not worry about any typos! Thanks for caring!

  2. Sorry about the typo’s I posted this via my phone:-<

  1. April 7th, 2011
  2. April 9th, 2011

Leave a Reply

