My Re-Birthday

On this day 12 years ago, at 6:46 PM CST, I began consciously following Jesus Christ as my Savior (arguably, it was another six months and 17 days before I consciously made Him my Lord).

I call it my Re-Birthday, because, at least in the Evangelical world, it is said you become born again when you believe in the saving work of Jesus Christ through His life, death, and resurrection. Therefore, I am re-12!

I like calling it my Re-Birthday, also, because it is fun!

12 years ago today, I began to willfully choose to at least try to listen to God and believe that He saved me through Jesus Christ. I like to celebrate this day as a special reminder (kind of like Christmas or Easter/Resurrection Sunday, but slightly more personal), and I encourage all followers of Christ to do the same. If you are not sure what day you truly believed, you can go off of your baptism, as most churches keep a record of that day. If you do not know what day you were baptized or were baptized as an infant, just use your actual birthday.

Honestly, this is something that should be done continually and every day, but it is also fun as well as one more way to share your faith.

Also, please join me in wishing my wonderful mother-in-law a happy birthday. It is her actual birthday today, and without her I would not have my amazing wife!

God bless you, and remember that Jesus Christ is the reason we live and move and breathe and have meaning!

  1. After you last comment on my blog, I realized it had been a while since I had been to yours. Please forgive me. Then, when I read this post, I had to say something…here’s the something….

    Being reared in the Baptist tradition, we lean pretty heavily on knowing the exact day (even the hour) of your re-birth. The only problem with that is many people come to a moment of faith and conversion without knowing the specifics of day or time (I am reminded of C.S. Lewis). However, for most believers, it should have been a moment most memorable when they realized hope was to be had in the person of Jesus, their Savior.

    Anyway, happy belated “re-birthday!”

    FYI, I was re-born on September 26, 1973. Ironically, that same day was Rosh Hashanah (the Jewish New Year). My father (deceased) prayed with me to receive Christ. I’ll never forget it, either.

    • I have to admit that one of my big “learning grace” areas was with people who did not know the day, let alone the hour or minute, they consciously believed Jesus Christ is their Savior. The only exception I saw was for those raised in the Church (as in Christianity as a whole). For something as important as coming to know the God of the Universe, it seems it should be remembered!

      I can show grace, however, because a) God shows grace to me daily, and 2) Proverbs 4:18 (NIV): “The path of the righteous is like the first gleam of dawn, shining ever brighter till the full light of day.” It might take some time for some people to understand what they have truly found/been led to! (Interesting side note: Jehovah’s Witnesses use this verse to explain why their prophecies about the return of Christ have been wrong. “We” are still growing in our understanding.)

      Your re-birthday should be relatively easy for me to remember. My sister-in-law was born on September 26, 1986, so I will just have to associate those to help!

    • catholicboyrichard
    • January 17th, 2012

    Your “re-birthday” was my late mother’s natural birthday. Wonderful connection. She was a godly woman and I am sure she is proud that we have connected on here. God bless you!

  1. January 9th, 2013

Leave a Reply

