The Fool’s Delight

This last week a friend of mine blogged about some of the silliness surrounding the Trayvon Martin killing, and I re-blogged it over here. Today, I look into it further.

An unfriendly man pursues selfish ends; he defies all sound judgment.

A fool finds no pleasure in understanding but delights in airing his own opinions.
Proverbs 18:1-2

I often wonder if men such as Jesse Jackson and Al Sharpton knew they would become such media lightning rods when they began public speaking. I like giving the benefit of the doubt that they truly began as individuals seeking equality and peace.

However, it would appear that, as it is said, “power corrupts.”

These are men who seem to enjoy the spotlight more than true justice to the point that they say some truly foolish things.

These are men who seem to enjoy saying what they think both before and after they understand what may be happening.

What is worse is that they are ordained ministers. They are ones who are to fight for peace and equality, yet we get statements that sound more like race-bating than many of the situations of which they speak.

13 Who is wise and understanding among you? Let him show it by his good life, by deeds done in the humility that comes from wisdom. 14 But if you harbor bitter envy and selfish ambition in your hearts, do not boast about it or deny the truth. 15 Such “wisdom” does not come down from heaven but is earthly, unspiritual, of the devil. 16For where you have envy and selfish ambition, there you find disorder and every evil practice.

17 But the wisdom that comes from heaven is first of all pure; then peace-loving, considerate, submissive, full of mercy and good fruit, impartial and sincere. 18Peacemakers who sow in peace raise a harvest of righteousness.

1 What causes fights and quarrels among you? Don’t they come from your desires that battle within you?
James 3:13-4:1

Men such as these are not following God. They delight in themselves and this world.

Pray you will not follow this path. Pray for the wisdom of God, that He will direct your heart. (And here is a reminder to go read Proverbial Thought and what the amazing contributors have to say. I am still amazed I am allowed to write with these amazing people!)

Pray for these men, as well, that they will truly seek God and become men of peace.

    • catholicboyrichard
    • April 17th, 2012

    Dan I usually agree with you on most things but I think you are off a bit on the Martin case. I do not know of the guilt or innocence of Zimmerman and that is for the courts to decide of course. But if some of the African American leadership had not fought loud and hard, I wonder if it would be even going to trial at this time?

    If a white person had the same exact thing happen, and done by an African American, most likely there would have been a public outcry immediately and no questions asked. But this thing sat for over a month before any arrests occurred. I am glad someone cares about the very tragic death of this 17 year old young man. And if that makes me seem to be a flaming liberal so be it. Just my two cents. God bless.

    • Hi, While I understand, and appreciate, what you say here. The tragedy of Trayvon’s death was turned into a media circus and national travesty by Al, Jesse, and the Black Panthers. The hard fought victories of Martin Luther King Jr. and others of the Civil Rights movement have had a major and positive effect our our nation. However, what Al, Jesse, and the usual suspects are doing today would make Martin Luther King Jr. turn over in his grave. They have lost sight of the important mission that King led them on.

    • catholicboyrichard
    • April 17th, 2012

    Having said that, I just read the “re-blog” of your friend’s and agree with much of that also. This is not about race but justice. Unfortunately though, particularly in many some parts of the country, it is not an easy struggle to get there unless race is at least mentioned.

    Absolutely I abhor violence, I do not support in any way deliberate race-baiting or such. I think the New Black Panther Party went far too far obviously, as did those who used it as an excuse to attack other humans. My only point is that I hear more anger or outrage from the white community, Christian or other, about Jackson or Sharpton than I do about the actual brutal death of Trayvon Martin. That tells me we still have not even come close to the “dream” of MLK. That is all I am saying. So I do mostly agree with you.

    • Truth be told, we usually agree pretty well, and I still have at least one more follow-up post in the works that covers way more than these two men. I was more or less using this situation as a primer. I was not even going to comment on the Trayvon Martin case until I read my friend’s blog entry.

      Really, this posting has very little to do with the Trayvon Martin case. Men such as Jackson and Sharpton jump on situations and makes utter fools of themselves without realizing it far too often. How many times do we do that (albeit, not usually on a national stage)? That is the real point.

      Thank you for your comments, as usual!

        • catholicboyrichard
        • April 17th, 2012

        I hear you my friend!!! BTW love that new “preppy” look but kind of liked the “Jesus’ look too hehe. Thanks Dan for understanding my concerns. At the same time I know stirring up controversy is a specialty of some folks and it unfortunately causes us to listen LESS, not more, after awhile. Even if they said some good or important things in the midst of their rantings, one starts to hear ONLY the rantings when it is always the same people who step in. As I said I am glad there will be a trial, but I pray for true justice, whatever it will be, to be done.

        Will be looking for your next post!

  1. I suppose I should have read the entire conversation before my previous reply. I too am looking forward to reading more of Daniel’s thoughts on this subject. Thank you for the reblog my friend. God Bless.

  2. Reblogged this on United to Save America and commented:
    In this follow-up to my post Hey Al, Jesse, are you happy now? http://u2sa.wordpress.com/2012/04/10/hey-al-jesse-are-you-happy-now/ my friend Daniel begins to address the greater issue at hand behind the men. Keep watching, Daniel has another piece planned on this topic.

  1. April 24th, 2012
  2. April 24th, 2012

Leave a Reply

