Weekend Words & Sunday Stanzas – 05/06/2012

Interestingly enough, today’s post was prepared before I went on the Men’s Retreat and before I prepared this last week’s posting.

I wrote this poem the same day I received my work evaluation at Sign*A*Rama. This was also a month before I lost that job, and I still think God played a role in my losing that job. (I also take responsibility for my own faults) This is a poem about living for God and not this world.

ultimate evaluation

at work we get evaluations

usually to recap how we’re doing

sometimes we get promotions

sometimes we go packing

the evaluation we need to work for

won’t be seen until we’re fired from life

this evaluation comes from the Lord

will we spend eternity in darkness or light

as we work towards this holy end

we need to ensure we are good with God

when we reach this ultimate evaluation

have we been living for the Blood

Taken from deeper words for God from a simple man of Godby daniel m  klem, page 57.

    • catholicboyrichard
    • May 6th, 2012

    In the first place it is always hard to admit leaving a job under less than favorable circumstances–I commend you for the humility to do so, as well as the faith to see God’s hand in it.

    Second, what true words you have written here. Maybe I should print it and give a copy to my boss before my next eval!!! Or possibly not hehe.

    God’s evaluation of us, while far more thorough, is also going to be far more gentle than we can even dream. He delights in giving “mercy over judgment” thankfully. And He realizes how lost us who are human really are without Him.

    Your last sentence asks the one ultimate question–St Paul says “For me to live is Christ, and to die is gain.” We are baptized into His death, the death of shedding His blood and life, so that we too can live–always–with Him. May we all be able to say that too.

    • I actually did give a copy to my bosses! I started my downward spiral into depression for not immediately following God’s call just a couple days after that. My depression played a huge role in my losing my job. Of course, I remember God calling me to quit two months before my evaluation, and He called me to end my relationship with a young woman (the last time He called me to that, at any rate) only a month before.

      I had to relearn falling in love with God. It was not until I had finally ended that relationship and lost my job that I truly began “living for Blood” for the first time. That is not to say I am perfect and get it right all the time. In fact, I mess up at some moment every day. Thankfully, He is a God full of grace and mercy.

        • catholicboyrichard
        • May 6th, 2012

        We all do fall daily, it just takes a great man to admit when he fails at times. Your walk is sensitive and sweet (in a guy sort of way of course!) and much appreciated. God bless you this night.

      • He has blessed me! Thank you, brother, and I promise that the same is seen in you. The prayer is returned: God bless you this night.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

