Weekend Words & Sunday Stanzas – 06/03/2012

Here is a friendly reminder to head over to check out Proverbial Thought and Pastor Baker’s amazing post today!

Have you ever been confronted with strange circumstances, you might even say they were attacks? Not necessarily from people so much as circumstances that seem too coordinated to be random.

I remember when my parents had started attending church, and, in 2001, less than a year later, things just seemed to be going a little crazy. They climbed into the minivan in the middle of all of this, and my dad sat on his cell phone making a long “beeeeeeeeep” sound. He pulled it out of its case, and he read on the display “666”. My parents decided to rebuke Satan in that moment: “Satan, just leave us alone!”

Things actually got better!

It was not because they told Satan to go away. It was their faith in Jesus Christ. That is the clincher.

I tell you all of that as the introduction to today’s poem. It was written after I read about Jesus’ rebuke of Peter in Matthew 16 and Mark 8 to “Get behind me, Satan!”

I bind you, Satan!
Get away from me!
I am no longer yours,
But belong to God.
Your power over me
Is gone from you.
I submit to God
And flee away from you.
I trample over you!
I cast you aside!
Attack me if you will,
But my God protects!
You were defeated!
The cross set me free!
Through Jesus’ blood
You lost control!
So, back off!
Get behind me!

Taken from deeper words for God from a simple man of God by daniel m  klem, page 79.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

