Weekend Words & Sunday Stanzas – 07/01/2012

I wanted to post a poem this week about independence or dependence or something, but as I have stated before I am making my way chronologically through my second book of poetry.

I did have some choice in the selection, so I thought it fitting that since we just came out of “Marriage Month” to use this poem.

I wrote this several months before I even met my lovely bride, but when in the presence of the Lord it is possible to understand so many things.

Bridegroom Love

When I begin to come into the presence of the Lord
I am a wreck.
Just knowing I am inviting Him to come
I am coming alive.
My stomach wrenches.
My heart leaps.
My body quivers.

When I begin to come into the presence of the Lord
I feel like a bridegroom.
I am a wreck.
As the bridegroom sees his bride coming down the aisle
He comes alive.
His stomach wrenches.
His heart leaps.
His body quivers.

When I begin to come into the presence of the Lord
I understand.
Christ is a bridegroom waiting on His bride.
As believers come alive
(I am sure)
His stomach wrenches.
His heart leaps.
His body quivers.
He sees His bride.

Taken from deeper words for God from a simple man of God by daniel m  klem, page 96.

    • catholicboyrichard
    • July 1st, 2012

    This poem reminds me of two things, the marriage at Cana, and the marriage feast in Revelation. And I think you are right–the Lord Himself will quiver with excitement to see us and join with us. You have captured the essence of Jesus here, as so many of your lovely poems do.

    • And this poem came about simply because I was on my way to visit someone gifted with prophecy, and I knew that I was about to have a real encounter with the Lord.

        • catholicboyrichard
        • July 1st, 2012

        Since you mention the gift of prophecy, I fully believe it can be manifest in poetry as well as many other ways. I think very possibly you have such a gift too.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

