Weekend Words & Sunday Stanzas – 01/06/2013

You probably are expecting this: do it right this year by remembering Proverbial Thought!

The poem for today was written exactly five years ago! Seeing as poetry can sometimes be confusing (especially mine!), I am providing some extra explanation.

And if I say to the wicked man, ‘You will surely die,’ but he then turns away from his sin and does what is just and right— if he gives back what he took in pledge for a loan, returns what he has stolen, follows the decrees that give life, and does no evil, he will surely live; he will not die. None of the sins he has committed will be remembered against him. He has done what is just and right; he will surely live.
Ezekiel 33:14-16, NIV

Yes, this passage is taken slightly out of context, but the message is the Christian message: when we put our faith in Jesus Christ, that we believe He was the perfect sacrifice for the forgiveness of our sins, God says to each of us “None of the sins he [or she!] has committed will be remembered against him”!

 

cannot remember

 

i cannot remember why

i ever tried to deny

the Man in Jesus Christ

Who lived a perfect life

 

 

on a day when i felt tender

my heart i surrendered

and of my sin asked the Father

and He simply answered

 

“You know … I cannot remember.”

 

  1. I do not have a lot of words
    I need to say Amen

    • I wrote this poem after having spent 6 months in Arizona, a month in Texas, and then getting to my parents house in Illinois. When I had left the previous May, we loved each other, no question, but things were tense (and I was a little crazy). There had been some misunderstandings and disagreements (such as me leaving Illinois for Arizona). The love we could still share helped inspire this poem!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

