Out for a Walk

Be counted among the wise and go read the wisdom found at Proverbial Thought.

Out for WalkiesWP_20130323_002

I currently live in an apartment, for a couple more months, at least. We eagerly await the day we can move into our new home.

Living in an apartment with a dog requires taking many walks for exercise and “potty breaks”.

As we walk along together, I let my puppy scamper around wherever he wishes in the grass and rocks, even letting him choose where he “does his business” on our mini-journey.

Sometimes, he gets a hold of a bone of some sort, a plant with spines or bad fluids inside, or a piece of garbage. I have to take his “treat” out of his mouth, even though he does not care for me doing so and would rather keep this seeming “prize”.

Sometimes, he rolls through something, such as another dog’s waste or some mud. This requires taking a bath as soon as we are back at the apartment, even though he does not care for it at the time and seems to prefer his new smell.

Sometimes he begins to stray into the parking lot, driving lanes, or even the road. I have to pull him back, even though he does not care about it nor necessarily understand why.

No matter what, though, I give him some freedom to choose where he goes on our path. However, I am the one ultimately in control of the path we take. He chooses some of his stops, but I am the one leading the way (even if it sometimes looks like he is!) to get him where I want when I want. When we eventually move into our new home, he will have more freedom to choose when he goes outside.

Human WalkiesWP_20130329_070

In their hearts humans plan their course,
but the Lord establishes their steps.
Proverbs 16:9

This is not a debate about theologies. Many of the soteriological theologies agree with what I am about to express.

God treats us much in the same way.

While we live on this Earth, God gives us some freedom of choice in many areas.

We often choose to put things into our minds and bodies that harm us, make our minds, bodies, and souls sick. Sometimes, God has to help us, but it can hurt, be uncomfortable, or even be embarrassing. It is for our benefit to be made healthy and whole.

We often choose to put ourselves in situations that sully our character or reputation. Sometimes, God has to wash us, but it can hurt, be uncomfortable, or even be embarrassing. It is for our benefit to be made clean and pure.

We often choose to stray from the path of righteousness. Sometimes, God has to pull us back to save us, but it can hurt, be uncomfortable, or even be embarrassing. It is for our benefit to be made holy and righteous.

Every step of the way, though we make some choices, God is leading the way. He knows our choices before we make them, but He is in the business of redemption and grace. He leads along the path of life, until He finally takes us to our new Home with Him.

  1. Thank you for this Daniel. I could never understand why dogs roll in stuff and seem to like the smell. Reading this is a reminder that humans are no different. It is just as well that God offers redemption and grace.

    • If not for His grace we would be stuck wallowing in our own filth. If not for His redemption our filth would continually hold us back; instead He uses it to propel us forward!

  2. Daniel, I can remember a few times I have rolled in some stuff of a foul smell. Just like the dog when I came in from my walk-about I need a bath of forgiveness, mercy, grace, and love. There just might be a poem in that? Anyway Good lesson and God Bless.

    • I think I do have a poem about that somewhere! At least, I used to have a poem about that. I think it was in a notebook that was either lost or stolen.
      I have been thinking on this post for a month. I almost shared it on Anthony Baker’s blog, but Something held me back. I wanted to write on something else, but Something would not let me write it!

  1. June 4th, 2013
  2. September 17th, 2013

Leave a Reply

