The End of 2013

A friendly reminder to finish the year right with some wisdom as found at Proverbial Thought!

To close out this incredibly full year, I will keep it short and sweet and remember some things that happened in my life this year.

After 12 years of on-again-off-again work, I earned my Bachelor’s Degree in Christian Leadership from Grand Canyon University. My journey started after high school, naturally, when I attended a semester at Olivet Nazarene University. A year after that I took some classes at Heartland Community College, took a year off before taking some more, and then taking another year off before getting a few more classes in. After getting married in 2009, I was accepted that fall to GCU’s online program doing one class at a time with only 3-4 weeks off from class each year!

The day after I finished my final class, my wife and I found out we were getting our house! It took five months to get through the financial process and two months of restoration before we could move in this past September.

We moved in one month into my first semester in graduate school, working on my Masters of Divinity in Biblical Communication. Graduate school is not easy! But I got through the first semester, and Caitlin took a class with me!

In January I was ordained.

In May I officiated my first wedding … for my sister-in-law!

I went to San Diego for the first time (with our youth group).

I signed with a talent agency for acting and modeling (weird, I know).

This was a crazy year.

However, God has taken the opportunity to work in my life through all of this.

He has taught me a deeper patience with people.

He has taught me the importance of Sabbath rest.

He has taught me the importance of gratefulness: to Him and to others, especially others.

He reminded me of the importance of trusting His sufficiency as we paid rent and mortgage for four months, two of which without income!

He reminded me of His grace as He imparted more grace through me.

He filled my wife and me with more peace, patience, and hope than we could understand during a crazy year of change!

Tonight as we host a New Year’s Eve get together in our new house, God will get that special place of honor in all of our interactions.

If you want a resolution for the new year, try this one: to walk closer with Christ each day.

But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness …” (Matthew 6:33)

For this next year,

The Lord bless you, and keep you;
The Lord make His face shine on you, And be gracious to you;
The Lord lift up His countenance on you, And give you peace.

    • Tara
    • December 31st, 2013

    Daniel thank you so much for sharing the blessings that God has given you and your wife in this last year. At some point we lost touch but I am so glad that this blog has renewed my connection. I pray that all is well now and continues to be as God takes you to the next step. What is funny is that I now work for GCU:-)

    Tara

    • YAAY!
      (Perhaps this is a connection that could help me with new employment … 😉 )

      It is great to hear from you, and we should definitely stay in touch! What specifically are you doing over there?

        • Tara
        • December 31st, 2013

        I am online full-time faculty at the moment. There is a lot that they have open for jobs so always keep an eye out on their HR site. Tell Caitlin I said hey and I have the same ole number:-) Also if you’re on Instagram I’m on there under pe2mp3.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

